Dryer Oulet Problem?

Old 06-05-13, 12:18 AM
Dryer Oulet Problem?

Hello,

Tonight when I tried starting my dryer, it made a brief 1-2 second attempt at starting but then it stopped completely. When I opened the dryer door, there was no light.

First thing I did was check the breakers outside, everything looked good. But I still switched them all OFF then back ON. However, the dryer seems like it's still not getting any power.

I found a video tutorial on YouTube about how to test a dryer outlet and followed the directions since I've never done this before...

I took a multimeter, pictured below and tested the outlet. Here's the picture of the multimeter I used. Hopefully I used it on the correct setting: ACV 750

Below are pictures of the tests I did with the multimeter. In the pictures where it says POSITIVE LEAD, that's where I stuck the positive lead on the multimeter and the same where it says NEGATIVE LEAD.

Test 1:

On this first test I got a reading of 122 Volts.

Test 2:

On the second test I got a reading of 42 Volts.

Test 3:

On the third test I got a reading of 101 Volts.

I though I should get a 120 Volt reading on Test1 and Test2 and a 240 Volt reading on Test3???

Based on the readings I was getting on the multimeter, if it safe to say that the outlet is the cause of the problem?

Thanks!

P.S. - This is the first time I've ever had to do anything like this. So, if I did the testing with the multimeter wrong, PLEASE LET ME KNOW! :-)

Sponsored Links
Old 06-05-13, 02:47 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Using a digital multimeter is fine as long as you can differentiate between actual voltage and phantom voltage, which is what you have in test 2 & 3.