Cable TV Ground Block

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-10-13, 02:20 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,697
Received 6 Votes on 4 Posts
Cable TV Ground Block

Would solid copper #12 be big enough? I've searched and read everything from #12 up to #6.

It will only go down the pole maybe 5' to the ground rod for my electric.


Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 06-10-13, 03:54 PM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That ground must be #10 or larger. Not sure if you're allowed to use bare anymore, I always use insulated.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-13, 06:51 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,697
Received 6 Votes on 4 Posts
Okay, that's what I'll use. From what I've read it only removes the static from the line.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-13, 08:25 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,469
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
From what I've read it only removes the static from the line.
OK.

What do you think might happen to it if you had a power surge - maybe during a thunderstorm - and it wasn't grounded?
 
  #5  
Old 06-11-13, 07:14 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,697
Received 6 Votes on 4 Posts
"Call The Man"

Right you are, sure can't hurt even though it hasn't been grounded in the 25+ years I've been here. As they say, stuff happens.

I asked the cable guy when he was here if I needed a ground block and he said, "not necessary." Go figure.

Seeing I bought my own modem now I want to protect it as much as I can hence the question.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 06-11-13, 09:42 AM
J
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,893
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
As I said in the cable modem thread, given that this is a trailer, the cable is most likely grounded at the utility pedestal - which if it is, the cable guy would be correct and one on the house is 'not necessary'. It would not hurt anything to install another one right before it goes through the wall though if it makes you feel better..
 
  #7  
Old 06-12-13, 10:00 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,697
Received 6 Votes on 4 Posts
No pedestal....drop comes from the pole in the alley about 25' to the pole in my yard.

I have the block installed, just wondering what wire to use to the ground rod.

All is good. Thanks
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: