Cable TV Ground Block

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-10-13, 02:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,510
Cable TV Ground Block

Would solid copper #12 be big enough? I've searched and read everything from #12 up to #6.

It will only go down the pole maybe 5' to the ground rod for my electric.


Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-10-13, 03:54 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
That ground must be #10 or larger. Not sure if you're allowed to use bare anymore, I always use insulated.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-13, 06:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,510
Okay, that's what I'll use. From what I've read it only removes the static from the line.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-13, 08:25 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
From what I've read it only removes the static from the line.
OK.

What do you think might happen to it if you had a power surge - maybe during a thunderstorm - and it wasn't grounded?
 
  #5  
Old 06-11-13, 07:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,510
"Call The Man"

Right you are, sure can't hurt even though it hasn't been grounded in the 25+ years I've been here. As they say, stuff happens.

I asked the cable guy when he was here if I needed a ground block and he said, "not necessary." Go figure.

Seeing I bought my own modem now I want to protect it as much as I can hence the question.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 06-11-13, 09:42 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: KS
Posts: 1,896
As I said in the cable modem thread, given that this is a trailer, the cable is most likely grounded at the utility pedestal - which if it is, the cable guy would be correct and one on the house is 'not necessary'. It would not hurt anything to install another one right before it goes through the wall though if it makes you feel better..
 
  #7  
Old 06-12-13, 10:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,510
No pedestal....drop comes from the pole in the alley about 25' to the pole in my yard.

I have the block installed, just wondering what wire to use to the ground rod.

All is good. Thanks
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes