Hair Dryers and blown GFI plugs

Old 06-11-13, 06:45 PM
Hair Dryers and blown GFI plugs

My daughter was using a blow dryer and the circuit blew. She hit the reset button and my wife went downstairs to check the breaker. She wasn't sure so she shut it off and turned it back, the power in the bathroom came back on but 5 outlets in my living room remain dead. I turned the breaker off and checked the connections on all the plugs, all wire are connected and tight. All of the connections are screwed in ,no backstabs. I am an architect, not an electrician, so my knowledge stops with replacing an outlet, could it be a bad breaker? and how do I check to se if it is a bad breaker?

Thank you all in advance!!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-11-13, 07:06 PM
Group Moderator
The bathroom receptacle should not be on the same breaker as the living room. The hair dryer should not have affected the living room. At this point I'd say your wife accidentally turned off the living room breaker. Start by turning off then on all 15 amp single pole breakers. If that doesn't do it repeat with the 20 amp single pole breakers.

Old 06-11-13, 07:12 PM
Welcome to the forums, Ricky.

The living room receptacles should not be on the same circuit as the receptacle in any bathroom. Receptacle circuits are often 20A single-pole circuits.

how do I check to se if it is a bad breaker?
See Troubleshooting a dead receptacle or light...

Old 06-11-13, 08:32 PM
I agree that the bathroom plug should not be on the same breaker. This problem has happened on a few occasions and I know my wife didn't turn off the wrong breaker. It is marked on the panel downstairs and I have reset the breaker previously myself. But the outlets never stopped working before.

Old 06-11-13, 08:42 PM
Group Moderator