Adding wire to a service run

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-12-13, 06:48 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adding wire to a service run

Hi, I had already purchased URD wire for a sub panel run for a shop/storage metal building and an obstacle is causing me to need about 18' more to reach the sub panel. Is it exceptable to some how add the extra 18' to make the entrance to the building and can I use copper to finish up? and do I need to come out of the ground to a disconnect of what should I do and still keep the URD already purchased.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-13, 07:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
How does the URD come up to your main breaker panel? I'd assume there is more then 18" from where it comes out of the ground to the panel. If so you can put a junction box a few inches above ground and transition to copper wire. If this is URD not URD/SUE you need to do this anyway if the panel is not on the outside of the house. (URD is not rated to be used inside.)
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-13, 07:28 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,120
Received 87 Votes on 78 Posts
Use an underground splice. I would stick with the URD.
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-13, 05:17 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys...................
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: