Wiring an electrical outlet outside to a 120/240

Old 06-15-13, 02:24 PM
Wiring an electrical outlet outside to a 120/240

Hi guys! I have an in-ground pool and a cement patio that it is in. On the far side of the patio (the far side from the fuse box) I have electrical wires coming out of the patio. I'm assuming they were used to wire a hot tub or an oven or something out there. There are 4 wires (green, white, red and black). On the fuse box, there is a double breaker (one of those with the bar across it) and the switches both say 50 on them. Also, on the breaker it says:
"Interrupting Rating
10 000 A
50/60 Hz
120/240 V~
A nom. I/AIR"

I'm only a sort of DIY electrician. I've wired lights and switches and receptacles before... I've even installed new breakers and run wires from them, but I don't know what this is. Can I use this wire to wire a standard outdoor receptacle?

Thanks for your time!

Sponsored Links
Old 06-15-13, 03:18 PM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums!

Yes, you can use that existing circuit for an outdoor receptacle with some modifications.
The breaker needs to be changed to a two pole 20 amp breaker as the 50 amp is too large for a general purpose receptacle. For one duplex receptacle you will just cap off one hot (black or red) and connect one to the new receptacle. You might want to pigtail some #12 wire to the larger wire, as you will not get it around the device screws. If you need more power there, you can use the other hot as another 120 volt circuit.

Old 06-16-13, 07:26 AM
Awesome! Thanks a ton. I did it last night and it worked like a dream!

Old 06-16-13, 08:11 AM
Personally, I would have installed a sub panel and then extended circuits as needed, provided the wiring met the requirements of article 680.

Old 06-16-13, 03:52 PM
Hi! Me again!