Old Wiring I think that needs to be remedied

Old 06-22-13, 05:34 AM
Old Wiring I think that needs to be remedied

While trouble shooting something I took the electrical panel door down and noticed a few things that makes you go "hmmm..."

Now I am not an electrician but even I can see this may be an issue, or two, or even three.

First, I saw two conduits where multiple hot wires and 1 neutral wire go into. One of them was a red, a black, a blue and two white. So there are two circuits sharing one neutral wire. There is another 3/4" conduits with 4 hot and 2 neutral wires going in, but I haven't traced that line yet to see what goes on there.

Back to the conduit with 4 wires, 1 red, 1 black, 1 blue, 2 white. All #12 solid copper wires. The red is on circuit 11, the black on circuit 19.

I read that shared neutral lines must be on opposite legs off a double pole breaker, so that they can trip together, so that one is a no no right there, correct?

So question 1, if I do want to implement this shared neutral configuration, can I move the breaker for circuit 9 to where circuit 19 is, and then put in a double pole breaker to connect the formerly circuit 19 wire and circuit 11 wire to the new 9 and 11 breaker position MEANWHILE still keeping the sticker labels "19" on the wire and breakers? I am asking because I do not want to relabel the stickers on the circuits. Many of the junction boxes have sticker labels on the wire, and if I swap the locations 11 and 19, there is no guarantee I will be able to hunt every label down and relabel them all, I am not worried about labor, I am worried about me missing one label and caused confusion and potential hazard for later. Of course, having a breaker in slot 11 labeled "19" is also confusing, but not as much.