120v switch: Pls help ID it

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-13, 02:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Question 120v switch: Pls help ID it

Moved in about 3mos ago (30yr old home). Was up in the attic looking around and found this unusual (to me) rocker switch located near the access hole. Has a row of green indicators that move with rocker movement. No obvious function. Anyone know what this switch might be used for?
TIA
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-13, 03:48 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Trumbull, CT, USA
Posts: 330
Looks like a fancy dimmer switch
Do you perhaps have a whole house fan? If so it may be a special switch (Fan motor rated) and not a dimmer switch
If you can cut the power to the switch and pull the switch out and post the make and model of the switch and a picture of all of the wires in the box. Also see what is not working in the attic or the house when you cut the power to the switch
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-13, 04:14 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Anyone know what this switch might be used for?
Where is the other end of each of the three cables that enter the box?
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-13, 04:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 55
Good questions...I attempted to trace the cables but there is little clearance in the attic and they all disappear into walls or under insulation. Major effort to trace with more precision.

My first guess was some sort of dimmer switch. I will attempt to cut power to it and see if there is anything that doesn't work, and get info off the switch. The home has been remodeled a couple times and it may be a remnant of an earlier remodel. There is a light in the attic and my guess was it controlled the light since it was located adjacent to the attic hatch. It doesn't.
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-13, 04:45 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
There is a light in the attic and my guess was it controlled the light since it was located adjacent to the attic hatch. It doesn't.
Does that light have a good bulb in it? That location is exactly where most attic lights get switched. Do you have a powered attic ventilator?
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-13, 05:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 55
No powered attic vent. The bulb didn't change intensity with the switch and I really don't understand why they'd put a dimmer on an attic light.
 
  #7  
Old 06-25-13, 06:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,439
That location would make more sense if you had an X-10 remote system. Actually maybe the previous owner had some type of remote system to control that dimmer.

Like circuitbreaker mentioned.....if you were to pull it out of the box you could see what it is.

FYI..... I have a dimmer on my outside floodlights.
 
  #8  
Old 06-25-13, 06:59 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
That looks like a timer switch. You can set it to time out after periods like 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 30 minutes etc. Prevent a light from being left on.
 
  #9  
Old 06-26-13, 03:04 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Going out on a limb, but as mentioned earlier, it could be a RF dimmer/timer, controlled via a remote in a living area. I couldn't guess as to why someone would install one in the attic, however. The mystery continues. The light in the attic isn't a cfl, is it?
 
  #10  
Old 06-26-13, 04:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 662
That's a timer or countdown switch.



Perhaps Insteon brand?

 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'