Wiring question - Two hots in one conduit OK?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-30-13, 10:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 643
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring question - Two hots in one conduit OK?

I need to install an outdoor ceiling fan and truing to figure out a way to connect it to next existing wiring.

I have an outdoor light with a switch inside the house. There is a hot and neutral going to that light fixture. I was wondering if I could pull in a second hot (always on) through that conduit and then extend conduit from the existing light fixture?

I am planning to have the fan always powered and use a remote control.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-30-13, 10:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,207
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
Yes....you can pull a second hot wire thru the conduit.

If that new hot wire is on a different circuit than the original wire.....then it will need its own neutral also.
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-13, 10:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Just a note you only need one ground wire sized to the largest breaker. (Of course in metal conduit no ground wire required.)
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-13, 03:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago land
Posts: 643
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. What is the best method to pull the second hot? attaching two wires to the existing hot and pull through two new ones?
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-13, 03:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,590
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Pulling Wire

As suggested elsewhere, pull a fish tape by attaching to the old wires and pulling tape through. Then use fish tape to pull old and new wires all at one time.
 
  #6  
Old 06-30-13, 09:55 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,980
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
The breaker should now be changed to either a 2 pole or two single poles with a handle tie. You will now have a multiwire branch circuit. The 2 hots and the neutral need a zip tie or a loop of tape to identify the MWBC.
 
  #7  
Old 06-30-13, 10:17 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Before going forward we need to know if both the fan and the light will be on the same breaker.
 
  #8  
Old 06-30-13, 10:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,207
Received 477 Votes on 447 Posts
You can't turn that into a multi wire circuit without identifying what leg the original circuit is on. It would be easier to pull a neutral with the new power wiring if you plan to go back to the panel.

If you are just adding a wire to obtain an "always hot" from the existing light switch then you can just grab the neutral at that point.....as long as it's there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: