Need help repairing power feeds to outbuildings.

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-02-13, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Need help repairing power feeds to outbuildings.

My wife and I bought an old farm which has 3 outbuildings. At one point, there was power to all 3 buildings, but a truck cut through the wire that fed buildings 2 and 3.

I would like to get power back to building 2 and have it as a wood working shop. I've managed to get the overhead cable back up to building 2, and would like to connect it to the existing wiring there.

The problem is that the overhead line is a cable made of 7 steel strands with a plastic coating, and I have no idea what to do with this. At one point this was obviously connected directly to the usual 4 wire electric wiring, but how it was done is a mystery to me - there is no subpanel.

Ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-02-13, 03:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Please post pictures of this cable. At the house where does the cable go? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...-pictures.html
 
  #3  
Old 07-02-13, 03:47 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
[Unwarranted suggestion removed.]
#2 Get permits.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-02-13 at 05:20 PM. Reason: Remove non-beneficial comment. Original archived.
  #4  
Old 07-02-13, 04:30 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Joe, great on the permits.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 07-03-13 at 07:32 AM. Reason: At members request.
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'