Wire Nut Reamer/Cleaner

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-06-13, 01:54 PM
Nick D.'s Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wire Nut Reamer/Cleaner

No, that's not a misprint, I'm actually asking about such a thing... it apparently doesn't exist.

Why not??? With all of the useless crappy doodads and whatchamacallits these days, you think someone would have hit on the idea, or am I just that insane?

New nuts, I don't really care, but is it not common to have nuts on old work break off? Yes, I do save them.....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-06-13, 02:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,587
Received 511 Votes on 481 Posts
It's real common for wires to break off in old wirenuts. Never found a way to remove them though.
 
  #3  
Old 07-06-13, 05:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,493
Received 33 Votes on 25 Posts
Wire nuts are far too cheap for me to waste my time on cleaning them.
 
  #4  
Old 07-07-13, 06:36 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,846
Received 42 Votes on 41 Posts
I used to use extra-pointy needle-nosed pliers to get old wires out of them. But then I realized that my time is worth more than the few-cent wire nut. Also, I'm part of the disposal generation. I like everything I work on to be clean and new. It's occasionally a character flaw
 
  #5  
Old 07-07-13, 07:12 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Many times re-using a wire nut doesn't result in a tight connection. They loosen for whatever reason, and I wouldn't trust them with a current-carrying circuit that's close to the wire rating. The few cents you save could cause thousands of dollars damage due to fire.
 
  #6  
Old 07-07-13, 08:38 AM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,546
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's cheaper for me to run to Fromm and get a new box for $10 than to spend ~$80 and my time removing wires.
 
  #7  
Old 07-07-13, 10:50 PM
Nick D.'s Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 143
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
.......

Ideal 71s and 74s
That's about exactly how old they are, too.

[ATTACH=CONFIG]14812[/ATTACH]
 
Attached Images  
  #8  
Old 07-08-13, 12:02 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I pitch those brittle things as far as I can when I find them. I could send them to you instead.
 
  #9  
Old 07-08-13, 08:16 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,280
Received 43 Votes on 35 Posts
Ideal 71s and 74s
That's about exactly how old they are, too.
Those are some extremely old products from Ideal. The Ideal 74B has yellow and differently configured for at least 40 years.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: