Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

How far does a wire have to be from the face of a stud/joist?

How far does a wire have to be from the face of a stud/joist?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-15-13, 04:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 172
How far does a wire have to be from the face of a stud/joist?

This is a relatively simple question, but I took a hiatus from elecitrical projects and apparently this piece of information I used to know took is still on a break.

When how far does a wire running through a joist/stud have to be from the face of a joist and, if a different distance, a stud without needing a nail guard?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-15-13, 04:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,515
The wiring should be kept in the center of the stud.

Anything closer than the center and you should use a nail plate.
 
  #3  
Old 07-15-13, 05:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 172
I thought there was an actual required minimum distance on joists/studs?
 
  #4  
Old 07-15-13, 05:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,515
The actual distance is 1-1/4"
 
  #5  
Old 07-15-13, 07:16 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 956
2" min for holes in floor joists - just plain not allowed to be closer,
 
  #6  
Old 07-15-13, 07:52 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Not according to the NEC.

From the structural issue the best place is centered top to bottom.
 
  #7  
Old 07-15-13, 08:10 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 956
Right - NEC doesn't care if the building falls down as long as it is not from an electrical fire. So just need a plate to protect NM cable from nails if less than 1 1/4"

It is building codes that limit where holes and notches go.
http://arch.umd.edu/Tech/Structural_..._Guide_A11.pdf
 
  #8  
Old 07-16-13, 07:28 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
It's not that the NEC doesn't care, it's a matter of needing to know multiple codes. The NEC clearly does not and never was intended to cover structural issues.
 
  #9  
Old 07-18-13, 05:33 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 364
I've seen where at studs ,where verticle one meets bottom how someone notched out a area in verticle stud ,for wire ,an put nail plate over it .all behind the drywall.does that wire have to get rerun in center of studs as spoke on ?
And what is limit of # of wires going through same stud hole,or isn't there one?
Thanks
 
  #10  
Old 07-18-13, 06:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,515
There is no posted amount of cables allowed thru a drilled hole but the wires need to fit comfortably.

I usually drill a 3/4" or 7/8" hole. Good for about three cables.
 
  #11  
Old 07-19-13, 05:52 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,221
I have seen some AHJs that don't allow more than one cable per hole. Just another reason to check your local codes.
 
  #12  
Old 07-19-13, 06:49 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Derating factors start to kick in when too many cables are in one hole, especially if the wall is insulated.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'