Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Running electricity from my house to a large shed for an office

Running electricity from my house to a large shed for an office

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-17-13, 08:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Lightbulb Running electricity from my house to a large shed for an office

Hello my name is Michael. I am having a 12x32 wooden shed delivered to my house tomorrow. I am going to turn the shed into a home office/livingroom. I am putting the shed as close to my house as I can. The shed will be about three feet away from my home and about 6 to 8 feet away from my outside breaker box. I have a large breaker box outside with 1 main quad breaker and three double breakers so I'm assuming that I have space available for at least 1 double breaker. In the shed I'm going to want at least two over head lights one of which I would like a ceiling fan. I also would like an outlet on each wall and two total on each long wall so a total of 6 outlets. I am going to be using the outlets for my computer, tv, maybe lamps, stereo, vaccum, ext. Pretty much the essentials that you would use everyday in your house. I also will need to heat and cool the building and need to either use a window unit or a wall unit of some sort. I also would like an outside light by the door and a total of two or three light switches in the building. Depending on the price it would also be nice to have an outlet on the outside of the building. I have called about 8 electricians and the prices I'm being quoted are dramatically different. Ranging from $600 to $2000. Why are The prices so different? I need to know what to look for what questions to ask the electricians and what exactly I am going to need. Will I be able to connect to my existing outside breaker box, will I have to bury wires or can they be connecting without digging, do I need a breaker box in the shed, what price range should this job be, ext? I feel that some of these electricians around here just want to rip me off because I don't know anything about electricity I need some help and advice thank you. Michael p.s. I am located near Murfreesboro TN
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-17-13, 09:16 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums, Michael.

I used to live in Murfreesboro but, since I've moved to Virginia, I can't come give you a quote. I'll just have to be one of the advice voices.

I have a large breaker box outside with 1 main quad breaker and three double breakers so I'm assuming that I have space available for at least 1 double breaker.
First of all, what do you mean by "a quad breaker?" Second, what you can add to your existing panel depends on both the spaces available and the size of your service. Tell us what those conditions are.

In the shed I'm going to want at least two over head lights one of which I would like a ceiling fan. I also would like an outlet on each wall and two total on each long wall so a total of 6 outlets. I am going to be using the outlets for my computer, tv, maybe lamps, stereo, vaccum, ext. Pretty much the essentials that you would use everyday in your house.
The two 32' walls will require at least 3 receptacles each. You will need 2 receptacles on each of the 12' walls. That's 10 or 11 receptacles total. I would figure 2 20A circuits for those.

I also will need to heat and cool the building and need to either use a window unit or a wall unit of some sort. I also would like an outside light by the door and a total of two or three light switches in the building. Depending on the price it would also be nice to have an outlet on the outside of the building.
You need to decide what you will use for heating and cooling before the proper size of the panel can be determined, since those will be your heaviest loads.

Will I be able to connect to my existing outside breaker box,
That depends on your answers to the questions above.

will I have to bury wires or can they be connecting without digging
Buried conduit would be best but there are other options. It depends on the look you want, the relative location of the existing panel to the new building, and your local permitting authority. Rutherford County?

do I need a breaker box in the shed,
Yes.
 
  #3  
Old 07-17-13, 09:50 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 364
Yep they are high there in Rutherford Co.. especially Smyrna even worse. .as is Sumner co...let me know how it goes and if you located a reputable/honest one.Good luck!
 
  #4  
Old 07-17-13, 10:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
When I say quad I mean that it looks like four breakers put into one and it says main under it
 
  #5  
Old 07-17-13, 10:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Also theres currently two double breakers next to eachother and 1 double breaker by itself with an empty slot next to it
 
  #6  
Old 07-17-13, 10:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
And also the shed is 3 feet away from the house and 6 feet away from the outside box
 
  #7  
Old 07-18-13, 04:40 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 4,297
Can you post a picture of this box?
Biggest mistake people make when doing this job is not supplying enough power to the building and using undersized wire thinking there saving money.
A whole lot cheaper in the long run to not undersize it so it does not have to be all done over.
 
  #8  
Old 07-18-13, 06:58 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
I am having a 12x32 wooden shed delivered to my house tomorrow
Is this being set up on a concrete foundation and slab or will it have a dirt floor? Will the interior be fully finished? Still need some answers to some of the questions Nash already asked. One in particular:

Second, what you can add to your existing panel depends on both the spaces available and the size of your service. Tell us what those conditions are.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'