Dishwasher - 2002 NEC - requires disconnect or not?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-13, 11:44 AM
Search Engine Optimized Spammers Not Allowed!
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Dishwasher - 2002 NEC - requires disconnect or not?

Hi,

I'm getting different information about whether a dishwasher electrical connection requires the ability to disconnect the power (either via a switch, or via a power cord plugged into an outlet).


Our village follows the 2002 NEC.

What is the rule per that code?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-13, 12:31 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
If the unit is hardwired a means of disconnect is required. This can be a lockout bracket installed on the panel door.

If cord and plug connected the plug is allowed to be the disconnect.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-13, 12:51 PM
Search Engine Optimized Spammers Not Allowed!
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Thanks -- what would the lockout bracket installed on the panel door consist of? I've got someone doing the wiring for the DW -- would that be something he does, or ?? Currently the hardwire flexible conduit is coming through the floor behind the DW. Is there one way that is better/easier than another, given what was done thus far? Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-13, 01:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Here are some examples of a lockout. You need one that will accept a padlock.

https://www.google.com/search?q=brea...w=1151&bih=706

Sounds like your unit will be hardwired.

If a cord is used the DW needs to be listed for a cord and the cord also needs to be listed.
 
  #5  
Old 07-22-13, 01:35 PM
Search Engine Optimized Spammers Not Allowed!
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Thanks for the information!
 
  #6  
Old 07-22-13, 02:09 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Is there one way that is better/easier than another, given what was done thus far?
I prefer to mount a switch above the counter. Easier, simpler and clearer than the panel lockout. The switch can also be mounted in a base cabinet - usually inside the sink base.
 
  #7  
Old 07-22-13, 03:55 PM
Search Engine Optimized Spammers Not Allowed!
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 192
Ok - thanks -- and if he has the direct wire coming in from the floor behind the DW location right now, how hard would it be to put a switch in the sink base cabinet (which is already installed)?

Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 07-22-13, 05:39 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
if he has the direct wire coming in from the floor behind the DW location right now, how hard would it be to put a switch in the sink base cabinet (which is already installed)?
IDK. It depends on how long the wire is, what the cabinets are made of, what is in the way under the sink, etc.
 
  #9  
Old 07-22-13, 07:53 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,365
Certainly worth asking the electrician what can be done without a lot of extra time and expense.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'