Running cables through existing walls


  #1  
Old 07-22-13, 09:20 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Running cables through existing walls

Hello,

Im gettin ready to run speaker cables through my walls for some rear surrounds. Is it ok to drill up through the fire stop piece between the studs to pass the cable through? I really dont want to tear into the drywall, and its a 2 story house so I cant go down the wall either. I read all over where people do it but I dont want to cause some huge code nightmare. Anyone have any comments on that? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 07-22-13, 09:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,020
Received 4,156 Upvotes on 3,732 Posts
You had two threads running on the same topic. We'll be using just this one.

So you are talking about using a long drill bit.....usually called a D'versibit to drill the cat/fire stop from the basement.

You're only drilling a small hole. That doesn't present much of an issue.

The only problem drilling such a distance is to make sure you don't drill thru any wiring already in the wall.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-13, 10:36 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 34
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile thanks

yeah I made 2 to ask other people also, I didnt even think about it. I had seen the d'versibits and thats what I was thinking about using. Thanks for your response.
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-13, 06:22 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,010
Received 211 Upvotes on 182 Posts
The speaker wire needs to be rated for in-wall use.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: