switch wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-23-13, 06:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 379
switch wiring

If I have a 20 amp light circuit switchlooped at a switch how would I tap in to add another light .such as under cabinet light for example-having its own switch built in .
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-23-13, 06:17 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You can't "tap" the switch because there is no neutral. You'll have to bring power to either your switch or to your lighting and then switch loop it.
 
  #3  
Old 07-23-13, 07:07 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
You also can't tap one of your countertop receptacles to power your under-cabinet lights. Is there a switch or receptacle on the other side of the wall you could get power from?

Otherwise, you can either run a new cable from the lights to the existing switch box or bring a new circuit from the panel.

Are you sure it's a switch loop? Are there only one black, white and bare wires in the switch box, with the white and the black connected to the switch?
 
  #4  
Old 07-23-13, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 379
I'm not touching the 2 dedicated 20 for countertop,there is a light circuit over cabinets and continues to other lighting ,nothing else but lighting on circuit.. Black /white both on switch .
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-13, 08:04 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Black /white both on switch.
Yep, that's a switch loop. This is one more example of why the recent requirement to have a neutral in every switch box is a good ides.

Would you rather replace the cable between the lights and the switch or tap something through the wall or pull a new circuit?
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-13, 08:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 379
Tap something I guess ,what options are there.I know it can't be dedicated circuits...I don't suppose you can link to another neutral (undedicated)off that hot can you?
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-13, 08:51 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
what options are there.I know it can't be dedicated circuits...I don't suppose you can link to another neutral (undedicated)off that hot can you?
No. I listed the options that I could think of earlier:
Originally Posted by Nashkat1
Would you rather replace the cable between the lights and the switch or tap something through the wall or pull a new circuit?
What would be the easiest for you to do?
 
  #8  
Old 07-24-13, 09:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: usa
Posts: 379
I guess I will junction off outlet in single bedroom,under home.unless the other light circuit has a neutral,which is very unlikely with the switch looped style I saw on a few switches.
 
  #9  
Old 07-24-13, 10:11 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Whatever is the easiest way to pick up a complete circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes