2 hot wires for a double ele oven?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-02-13, 10:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
2 hot wires for a double ele oven?

I have a KitchenAid Superba electric double oven. 120 vac. It has 4 wires coming out if the conduit. 1 black 1 red 1 white and 1 bare copper. My Junction box Has eight wires coming out of it. Two Black 120 V..... 2 Blue 120 V.....2 White 120 V....1 Red.... And 1 Green. I am in California and I'm hooking this up in my garage (shop) to used for powder coating. 9 out of 10 say hook the wires up by color and you'll be fine. Well,,, the oven lights up and sounds like it works but no heat. Am I doing this rite or?????? Little help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-02-13, 12:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
My Junction box Has eight wires coming out of it.
What junction box?

It has 4 wires coming out if the conduit. 1 black 1 red 1 white and 1 bare copper.
What is "it"? Do you mean the whip on the oven.

Has eight wires coming out of it. Two Black 120 V..... 2 Blue 120 V.....2 White 120 V.
The oven needs a dedicated 120/240 four wire feed. Two black wires 120 volts relative to what. 2 blue wires 120 volts to what? Neither make sense. You aren't trying to guess voltage with a non contact tester are you? You can't.
 
  #3  
Old 08-02-13, 12:13 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

Can you post a link to the installation instructions for the oven?

There are internal thermal fuses in these ovens. Yours may need to be replaced.
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-13, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Okay the box on the wall in my garage. Yes the whip on the back of the oven. And no I'm not guessing I tested them. There is a total of four black wires in this box 2 of each are tied together. A total of four blue wires 2 of each are tied together. Three red wires all tied together. Five white wires three tied together on one. two on the other. And one green wire. I tested the black ones and the blue ones all came out to 120.
 

Last edited by pcboss; 08-02-13 at 03:50 PM. Reason: language
  #5  
Old 08-02-13, 01:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
For some reason I cannot find the installation instructions online anywhere for this oven. Every part number I could find on this oven I typed into a search engine came up with zero matches.
 
  #6  
Old 08-02-13, 03:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
To bring power to the oven you need four #8 wires and a 40 amp two pole breaker*; two hots, a neutral, and a ground. I don't know what the mess in the junction box is but it isn't a dedicated 120/240 feed for an oven.

*Or four #10 and a 30 amp breaker depending on oven amps.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 08-02-13 at 05:28 PM.
  #7  
Old 08-02-13, 04:40 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
See if this isn't what you are looking for; owner's and installation manuals. It looks to me that depending on KW rating of the oven, you might need either a 30 amp or a 40 amp 4-wire circuit, 120/240V.

KEBC277KBL - KitchenAid Superba 27" Double Built-In Electric Oven - KEBC277KBK at Abt
 
  #8  
Old 08-02-13, 05:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Your Definitely right about that. For the last six years I just assumed that box was empty. So I can avoid the hassle of running all new wires to make sure it's done right Can you recommend a different oven that I can run in a regular Garage Outlet? Powder coating is a very simple process, very minimal electricity usage. Except for the oven of course. Other than that, the only thing on in the shop is lights and small set of computer speakers For a radio.
 
  #9  
Old 08-02-13, 05:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,461
The only ovens that run on 120v are toaster ovens. You won't find any full size oven that doesn't run on 240v. You may find warming ovens that run on 120v but I don't think they will do what you want.
 
  #10  
Old 08-02-13, 05:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Fair enough. This is going to sound like a dumb question but I'm going to ask anyways. To create the 240 V circuit I will need to run 120 V to the black wire coming out of the oven and 120 V going to the Redwire out of the back of the oven correct? Hypothetically speaking of course. I'm just trying to understand how that works
 
  #11  
Old 08-02-13, 05:56 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Justa, I'm going to slightly rewrite what Ray said. He can yell at me later.

You need a new 4-wire circuit from your panel to the oven. Two hots, a neutral and a ground. The two hots and the neutral need to be #8 AWG conductors. The ground can be #10 AWG.

In your panel, The two hot wires need to be connected to the two poles of a 2-pole 40 amp 240V circuit breaker. The neutral and the ground need to be connected to the appropriate bus bars.

At the oven, you need to bring the wiring for the new circuit into an appropriately sized junction box mounted in an accessible location. In that box, splice the wires from your oven to the wires from the panel, color-to-color. Bond the J-box to the ground wire. Cover the J-box.

Forget about that wall box you've been messing with unless it is connected to your panel with conduit. If it is, you can use the wires that are in it now to pull your new wires in.
 
  #12  
Old 08-02-13, 06:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 6
Nice. Thank you very much for your help. And ray as well. Looks like the shop will be down for another day but well worth it to get it done rite.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'