doorbell wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-12-13, 02:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Question doorbell wiring

Hi,
I'm installing a wired doorbell in new construction. The wires are in place, so I figured it would be easy. When I looked at the wiring, though, there are a dozen small gauge wires there, at the button, at the transformer box, and at the chime location. Why so many wires?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-12-13, 03:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,090
Welcome to the forums.

There should be a two conductor cable to the button.
There should be a two or three conductor cable to the doorbell.
There may be a front and rear button.

Normally the chime and button wiring is run directly to the transformer.

Tell us the cables you have there and what colors are in them.
 
  #3  
Old 08-12-13, 03:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
The doorbell unit I bought describes the wiring, so I'm OK on who gets wired to who. There just are so many wires to choose from The wires are all color coded, and seem to come in pairs,that is, a red wire and a red/white striped wire are twisted together, as are a blue and a blue/white striped, and a yellow and yellow/white striped, etc.

Is it possible that most of these wires are simply excess, and all I need to do is choose a color to be the one that goes from button to transformer, and another one that goes from transformer to chime, etc.?

There is no rear button, only the front button.

Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 08-12-13, 03:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,042
Probably CAT3 or CAT5. If you are sure it is doorbell just choose a pair to use. Since it is probably only #22 I would twist both wires of a pair together to use as a single conductor. For example strip and twist together blue and blue/white to connect to one side of the transformer and twist together green and green/white to use as the other wire from the transformer. Your colors may vary. That was just an example. Actual choice of colors used is your option.
 
  #5  
Old 08-12-13, 03:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Sounds good. I'll try that ... and just leave the other wires alone.

Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 08-12-13, 04:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,042
Traditionally any unused wires in cable like that are neatly wrapped around the cable not cut off. That way if a wire fails you can just switch to one of the unused wires.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes