Troubleshooting wired light switch

Old 08-06-13, 06:24 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Troubleshooting wired light switch

I have a light switch in my master bedroom that controls an outlet on the same wall. Everything here worked great. At some point I swapped the old grungy switch and outlet for new, cleaner versions. What I have recently noticed that neither the outlet or switch seem to be working. I've not tried to use the outlet or switch in awhile because I hadn't really had anything to plug into it, so I can't guarantee that it's connected to my swap of a new switch and outlet, but I'm guessing it's connected.

The breaker is fine. And I have ensured that GFCI's are not tripped. The switch next to this one controls the ceiling fan and it is on a GFCI, but I don't know if this switch is. My father-in-law worked with it a bit and used a power meter to which we were able to notice that power was going to the light switch, but the outlet was not receiving power. So, I'm guessing maybe that means the switch somehow is the problem. I just have no idea what to try next. I'm wondering if it is simply a matter of where I attached wires something wrong. Again, these are brand new pieces and I even swapped in another brand new switch and outlet and same problem...so I know it's not the materials. I've included images below. I've tried to provide as much relevant information as I can, but I realize I may have left other details out of which I would be glad to provide more as prompted.

All images are as it appears now:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0By1m...it?usp=sharing

Old 08-06-13, 06:30 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The receptacle shown in the second picture should have a white wire connected to the silver side.

Old 08-06-13, 08:16 PM
Received 6 Upvotes on 5 Posts
I have ensured that GFCI's are not tripped. The switch next to this one controls the ceiling fan and it is on a GFCI, but I don't know if this switch is.