Defiant Daylight Adjusting Digital Timer

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-14-13, 10:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 34202
Posts: 9
Defiant Daylight Adjusting Digital Timer

I have this timer it has 5 wires - Red,Black,Blue,White,Green

I want to use it on a single switch porch light.

I just have 2 wires on the old switch.

How do I connect it?

The directions say red is not used.

Thanks

Dave
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-14-13, 11:32 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,251
Many of the new timers require a neutral in the switch box. This allows the timer itself to use a bit of electricity to keep the time and turn the load on and off.

If all you have in the box are two black wires (and maybe a bare ground), and you don't have any white (neutral) wires buried in the back of the box, you'll need to find another timer as this one won't work. Make sure the timer says it does not require a neutral wire, and if you're going to use it with CFL or LED lights, ensure it says that too.
 
  #3  
Old 08-14-13, 12:06 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,047
I believe Zorfdt meant if you only have a black and white wire on the switch. If you have two blacks and it is cable you should have whites in the back.
 
  #4  
Old 08-14-13, 07:43 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,251
Yup... what Ray said......
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-13, 11:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 34202
Posts: 9
Thanks

Thanks guys. No white must have taken ground some where else.
got a 3 wire model - works great.
Dave
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes