Darn outlet wont work!

Old 08-14-13, 01:17 PM
Darn outlet wont work!

OK guys,
little bit of a newbie here so please excuse...
im trying to get an outlet to work at the bedroom of my apart ment.
I checked the following:
breaker fuse: fine
tested the wire: theres power
and exchanged outlet.
Nada.
what can be wrong here?
any ones sugestion would be of great!
also important to note that the out let seems to be running from another outlet in the living room area and it works on that outline just fine.
also noticed that the cables connected to the outlet are 2 whites and one blk.
attached is a picture of it.
Thanks guys!

Attached Images    
Sponsored Links
Old 08-14-13, 01:26 PM
The fact that you have two whites going to the receptacle makes me think that one of the outlets is controlled by a switch.

EDIT: or linked to another receptacle.
I agree with other post, if this is an apartment, contact the owner.

How did you test for power? Multimeter, contact tester, or non-contact tester?

Last edited by Michael Rivers; 08-14-13 at 01:48 PM.
Old 08-14-13, 01:34 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Are you renting this apartment? If so you need to call the landlord and get them to have this fixed.

Old 08-14-13, 01:49 PM
I think Michael Rivers has a good point there some outlets are really working but are actually controlled by a switch. If that outlet is near a door there is a good possibility that it is a switched outlet and the switch is very nearby.

I should caution you to to check with your landlord since you don't own your residence. If something bad happens you could be held liable for the damages if your landlord was not aware of what you are doing. If he is fine with that then I have some more advice myself.