What wire to run to a kitchen range?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-13, 05:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 377
What wire to run to a kitchen range?

I am doing a home kitchen remodel and haven't decided on the type (gas, electric, or dual) of stove/oven I am going to put in. However, I do want to run the electric wires before deciding so that I am covered in case I change my mind later on.

I was thinking of running either a 8-3 electric wire or a 10-3 electric wire. What gauge of electric wire should I run to cover all my bases?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-16-13, 05:51 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,356
Unless you plan on using a commercial type range an 8-3 copper with ground should be sufficient. You also want to run a 120 volt receptacle for a gas range light and ignitions system. This 120 volt circuit may come from one of the required small appliance branch circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-13, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
You should at the very least run an 8-3 NM w/grd. That would give you a 240vac 40amp feed.

If you go with a monster range......some require 6-3w/grd.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-13, 08:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 377
Ok, thanks for the recommendation guys. Yes, so I think I'll just run an 8-3 wire.

On a separate note, I'm also going to do an overhead microwave with a built-in vent. Do you think I'll be ok with a 12-2 electrical wire with a single pole 20 amp breaker at the outdoor electrical panel?
 
  #5  
Old 08-16-13, 09:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
On a separate note, I'm also going to do an overhead microwave with a built-in vent. Do you think I'll be ok with a 12-2 electrical wire with a single pole 20 amp breaker at the outdoor electrical panel
Yes, it must be a dedicated 20 amp circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-13, 07:36 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
Do you think I'll be ok with a 12-2 electrical wire with a single pole 20 amp breaker at the outdoor electrical panel?
I don't like outdoor electrical panels. If you use typical 12-2 NM B cable (aka romex) it cannot be exposed outdoors. Do you have a path in which to route the cable so it isn't exposed? The same goes for the 8-3 NM B cable for the range circuit. Many times this means exiting through the back of the panel.
 
  #7  
Old 08-17-13, 10:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 377
Yes, even though the panel is mounted outside, the wires actually run through a hole in the back of the panel, up a stud cavity, and into the attic.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'