What wire to run to a kitchen range?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-16-13, 06:25 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What wire to run to a kitchen range?

I am doing a home kitchen remodel and haven't decided on the type (gas, electric, or dual) of stove/oven I am going to put in. However, I do want to run the electric wires before deciding so that I am covered in case I change my mind later on.

I was thinking of running either a 8-3 electric wire or a 10-3 electric wire. What gauge of electric wire should I run to cover all my bases?
 
  #2  
Old 08-16-13, 06:51 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Unless you plan on using a commercial type range an 8-3 copper with ground should be sufficient. You also want to run a 120 volt receptacle for a gas range light and ignitions system. This 120 volt circuit may come from one of the required small appliance branch circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 08-16-13, 06:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,489
Received 1,422 Votes on 1,315 Posts
You should at the very least run an 8-3 NM w/grd. That would give you a 240vac 40amp feed.

If you go with a monster range......some require 6-3w/grd.
 
  #4  
Old 08-16-13, 09:51 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks for the recommendation guys. Yes, so I think I'll just run an 8-3 wire.

On a separate note, I'm also going to do an overhead microwave with a built-in vent. Do you think I'll be ok with a 12-2 electrical wire with a single pole 20 amp breaker at the outdoor electrical panel?
 
  #5  
Old 08-16-13, 10:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
On a separate note, I'm also going to do an overhead microwave with a built-in vent. Do you think I'll be ok with a 12-2 electrical wire with a single pole 20 amp breaker at the outdoor electrical panel
Yes, it must be a dedicated 20 amp circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 08-17-13, 08:36 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,794
Received 100 Votes on 90 Posts
Do you think I'll be ok with a 12-2 electrical wire with a single pole 20 amp breaker at the outdoor electrical panel?
I don't like outdoor electrical panels. If you use typical 12-2 NM B cable (aka romex) it cannot be exposed outdoors. Do you have a path in which to route the cable so it isn't exposed? The same goes for the 8-3 NM B cable for the range circuit. Many times this means exiting through the back of the panel.
 
  #7  
Old 08-17-13, 11:46 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, even though the panel is mounted outside, the wires actually run through a hole in the back of the panel, up a stud cavity, and into the attic.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: