Electrical Oven Cable - Junction Boxes

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-17-13, 02:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 19
Electrical Oven Cable - Junction Boxes

Hello,

I am moving my electric oven/stove while remodeling my kitched. It is a 30amp unit with 8-3 cable.

Question 1: Because I am moving the stove, I will need to extend the cable. Can I use a junction box and splice in the extension, or do I need to run a new cable?

Question 2: I have several lengths of 8-3 around the house, but none quite long enough. Can I install two junction boxes?

Thanks much.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-17-13, 02:18 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Yes, you can use multiple junction boxes.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-13, 07:49 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,259
Copper or Aluminum? Both are splice-able, but you need to take more precautions with aluminum.

Personally, I'd consider replacing the whole run, or at least using only one junction. Every junction needs to be kept accessible and is a potential future failure point. As Ray pointed out, it's code-compliant, but not preferred.

Oh, and we are assuming you mean 8/3 cable with ground. You're not allowed to extend ungrounded circuits.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes