Hot bus or hot breaker?

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-20-13, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Hot bus or hot breaker?

In a single breaker disconnect panel does it make any difference for safety or NEC whether the service cable from the meter is connected to the bus or breaker? To my mind it doesn't matter but the NEC might have a preference.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-20-13, 01:05 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
What is a single breaker disconnect panel and what are you trying to do with the power?
 
  #3  
Old 08-20-13, 08:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Panel on other side of wall from meter. "Do with the power"? Not sure what you mean. From there it feeds the sub panel with all the house fuses.
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-13, 01:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
Remember that any circuit breaker that "plugs" onto the bus bars and is only held in place by the panel cover MUST have a "hold down" kit attached to keep the circuit breaker in place when that CB is supplied power from what are normally the load side terminals.

In other words, unless this circuit breaker is bolted to the bus bars you MUST have the auxiliary hold down bracket from the panel manufacturer if you are going to feed the CB from the meter rather than the bus bars.
 
  #5  
Old 08-21-13, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Thanks Furd--I didn't know that. I've seen the retainers on the wall at the big boxes but have never seen any reference to them here or in my wiring book. In this case I wired the meter to the bus lugs.
 
  #6  
Old 08-21-13, 10:47 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,669
If this is the first panel after the meter and there is no OCPD ahead of it and has spaces for more than six breakers you can't use the lugs.
 
  #7  
Old 08-21-13, 12:05 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,361
The disconnect may have the terminals labeled LINE and LOAD. Line would be the incoming power.
 
  #8  
Old 08-22-13, 09:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Originally Posted by pcboss

The disconnect may have the terminals labeled LINE and LOAD. Line would be the incoming power.
I know a circuit breaker functions the same installed either way--but does the NEC have wording that IF MARKED you must connect as indicated?

I had my inspection yesterday and all my new work passed but I failed on several issues with the 30 year old fuse box (sub-panel).

Now my wiring project must wait until AFTER the house is sided--the section where the old meter box resides will remain unfinished
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'