Replacing Receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-13, 03:54 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Receptacles

So I want to replace the receptacles in my new home. I'm pretty sure they've been here since it was built in '85. It seems like a pretty simple task, except that the wires are going directly into the back of the current receptacle and I can find no hole where you can supposedly release the wires and pull them out. Is it possible to just cut the wires and do it that way?
 
  #2  
Old 08-21-13, 04:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,440
Received 1,411 Votes on 1,305 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You can cut the wires provided you have enough to work with.

There should be a small squaresh hole right next to where the wire pushes in. That's the release hole where you would put in a very small screwdriver or punch.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-13, 04:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Remember those back stabs can be unreliable. Use only the screws when you install new ones.
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-13, 04:27 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. Much appreciated.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: