Replacing Receptacles

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-21-13, 03:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Replacing Receptacles

So I want to replace the receptacles in my new home. I'm pretty sure they've been here since it was built in '85. It seems like a pretty simple task, except that the wires are going directly into the back of the current receptacle and I can find no hole where you can supposedly release the wires and pull them out. Is it possible to just cut the wires and do it that way?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-13, 04:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,213
Welcome to the forums.

You can cut the wires provided you have enough to work with.

There should be a small squaresh hole right next to where the wire pushes in. That's the release hole where you would put in a very small screwdriver or punch.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-13, 04:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,054
Remember those back stabs can be unreliable. Use only the screws when you install new ones.
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-13, 04:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Thank you. Much appreciated.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes