Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Tv affects operation of 3-way light switch - please tell me why

Old 08-22-13, 09:27 PM

I am a landlord and general contractor. I was called to a property in response to a call that a light operated from two locations (3 way switches) would not turn off. After checking all the seemingly obvious causes I was dumbfounded. I asked the tenant if she had made any changes in the room.

She stated she had just moved her home entertainment system into that room. All of the various components of this system were connected to a surge protector and plugged into an outlet that shared power to the three way switches.

I unplugged the surge protector and the three way switches worked fine (turn light off and on from either switch).

I unplugged all components of the entertainment system from the surge protector and started plugging them in one at a time. I ultimately discovered the plug from the HDTV was the culprit.

Every time that plug was inserted into an outlet, the light remained on regardless of the position of either 3 way switch. Playing around for a while, I further discovered if a put an adapter on the 3 prong HDTV plug that modified it to a two prong, ungrounded plug (removing the ground prong) it worked fine.

Although I've figured out what caused the problem, I have no concept of what is happening. I hate to conclude that magic is the cause of this problem. Can anyone help with an explanation of this phenomenon???

Sponsored Links
Old 08-22-13, 09:35 PM
Group Moderator
Welcome to the forums.

No....it's not magic. It sounds like someone switched the neutral (white wire). When you plug the grounded plug in...... the neutral is getting connected to ground.

Old 08-22-13, 09:58 PM