Outlet Box Screw Insert

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-23-13, 07:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Outlet Box Screw Insert

I bought a new hose and the outlet is missing the screw insert.
Does anybody know where I can buy 1 of these boxes and get the
insert that I am missing?

Thanks!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-23-13, 09:47 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
The opening around the box is also too big. You can't have more than one eighth inches on any side. Maybe the pros have seen a box like that, I haven't. I'd just replace it with an old work box.
 
  #3  
Old 08-23-13, 10:04 AM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
I have never seen a box like that either. As ray2047 suggested, using an old work box would be the easiest and cheapest way to go. But, if you are intent on keeping the box I would find a square nut of the appropriate size (grind or file down to make it fit and center in the opening) and use some two-part epoxy to affix it to the box. Just use a matching threaded machine screw for the nut. Of course, if you want to use the existing screw you have find a square nut that matches those threads.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 08-23-13, 10:23 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,595
  #5  
Old 08-23-13, 11:59 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
pcboss, thanks for the info. After you put a name to the box I did some searching. Now I see how it works. This is an image of a cheetah speed switch. A search also showed that just the receptacle part is still available.

From the photo posted it appears that at sometime someone replaced your receptacle with a standard one. As you can see from the photo I posted the switch or receptacle is meant to be snapped into place. It looks like your box is still good. You would have to remove the broken black part from the bottom hole in the box and snap in your wired replacement receptacle in place.
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 08-23-13, 03:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 994
But, if you are intent on keeping the box I would find a square nut of the appropriate size (grind or file down to make it fit and center in the opening) and use some two-part epoxy to affix it to the box. Just use a matching threaded machine screw for the nut. Of course, if you want to use the existing screw you have find a square nut that matches those threads.
Wow, talk about a $10 fix for a $1.50 problem. The epoxy alone would cost a lot more than a new box. Not to mention the time involved.
 
  #7  
Old 08-23-13, 04:12 PM
firedawgsatx's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,727
md2lgyk

I understand about the $10 fix for a $1.50 problem. Just giving suggestions to the OP. I have been in the home construction business for over 30 years and have never seen a box/outlet like that. Have you priced shipping for the $1.50 item or the time (you mentioned time) and gas to go pick up that $1.50 item if it was available locally? I keep several containers of epoxy (2-part that you knead, as required) in my tool box for small repairs such as that. If it was me, I would replace the box with a blue old work box.
 
  #8  
Old 08-23-13, 05:46 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
Quick wire systems come and quick wire systems go (out of business usually, I've seen a ton of them). The only one who benefits from these systems is usually the installing contractor because inevitably, the next guy has to replace a receptacle and this is what happens. I think I too would just replace the box, but I'd also look into a few replacement Cheetah duplex receptacles and maybe a few switches too to keep in private stock for future. What a PIA.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes