Help Needed, with wiring infloor heating for a bathroom.

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-26-13, 11:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Help Needed, with wiring infloor heating for a bathroom.

Hi, I am remodelling 2 bathrooms, and was hoping to convert the electric baseboards to electric infloor heating. A few questions I have are :
1) Can I use the existing wiring feed from the baseboard to run to my heating wires, either by a junction box or direct connect ? A few notes are....the baseboards are small 500 w units, the bathrooms are 15 and 25 sq ft in size... the manufacturer says I need a dedicated circuit for each, but also says in a tutorial that I can use the existing wires feeding the old baseboard ( but it is not very clear).... the new floor heating system runs off of a wall thermostat....I've already bought the floor wiring kits, they are 120v....the heating system is Warmwire...
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks for your time.

ssiman
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-27-13, 03:19 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Welcome to the forums! The only problem I see is getting the wiring from the baseboard heater to the thermostat, which will be 4' higher. You can't add wiring without a junction box that must remain exposed and covered at all times. If you can get around that, then you can use the power from the baseboards. Make sure the baseboard heat is 120 volt.
 
  #3  
Old 08-27-13, 06:57 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Many baseboard heaters are 240 volt. You may need to make some wiring changes in the panel if yours are 240 and not 120.
 
  #4  
Old 08-27-13, 11:09 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
The circuits for your in-floor heating will have to be GFCI Protected.
 
  #5  
Old 08-27-13, 12:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4
yes thanks, the t-stat has a built in GFCI.
 
  #6  
Old 08-27-13, 01:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Hi Chandler, thanks for your comments. Yes, the junction box will be there and exposed. I will check but I think the baseboard heater is 240 v..... any idea what I would have to do to accomodate the 2 different voltages ?
 
  #7  
Old 08-27-13, 01:35 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
I will check but I think the baseboard heater is 240 v..... any idea what I would have to do to accomodate the 2 different voltages?
It dependsd on how they're wired but, if they're straight 240 V with 2 hots and a ground and a 2-pole 240V breaker, you should be able to replace the breaker with a single-pole 120V breaker and move one of the two wires in the panel to the neutral bar.

Tell us the type (240 or 120) of circuit, the size (amp rating) it is now, and the size of the wire. Also tell us the amp load of the kit for each room.
 
  #8  
Old 08-27-13, 03:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Ok, thanks again for your help. I'm out of town for a few days but will check these items at weeks end.
Cheers
 
  #9  
Old 08-27-13, 04:26 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Just click back on this thread and keep it going so we don't get lost. We'll be here.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes