microwave tripping circuit breaker


  #1  
Old 08-31-13, 04:59 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Smile microwave tripping circuit breaker

I have a built-in microwave on its own designated breaker. Our home will be 8 years old in Nov. and the microwave has worked til now. My husband figured it was the circuit breaker, so we replaced it. The microwave still blows the circuit. Is it our wiring, or do we need a new microwave?
Thanks for reading this and hopefully the help you will give.
Cheryl
 
  #2  
Old 08-31-13, 05:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Does it trip immediately? If so unplug or disconnect the microwave. If it still trips it is the wiring. If it no longer trips it is probably the microwave. If the microwave has a plug you can confirm this by plugging it into an extension cord on another circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 08-31-13, 05:54 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How many amps is the breaker & what size wire is connected to it? I just ran into a problem like that. Someone had installed 20 Amp duplex breakers to make more room in the box but that sent 20 amps through #14 wire, which shouldn't be.
 
  #4  
Old 08-31-13, 06:34 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,813
Received 105 Votes on 93 Posts
Someone had installed 20 Amp duplex breakers to make more room in the box but that sent 20 amps through #14 wire, which shouldn't be.


Yes, #14 wire should be protected by a 15 amp breaker, but a 20 amp breaker does not send 20 amps through the wire regardless of what size the wire is. The only amperage that goes through the wire is determined by the load or current drawn through the wire by that load.

Follow Ray's suggestion.
 
  #5  
Old 08-31-13, 06:49 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,982
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, it doesn't send it but it allows it, which is not good.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: