What type of 240v plug is this?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-02-13, 12:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
What type of 240v plug is this?

I have to replace a window air conditioning unit and the plug it uses I cant seem to find a adapter for:


Existing wall outlet: http://i.imgur.com/QlHTvjZ.jpg

Plug on old (dead) air conditioner: http://i.imgur.com/wyaKD8G.jpg (this plug is BIG- about 2x the size as a normal plug)

Plug on new air conditioner : http://i.imgur.com/RgZL6Xq.jpg

So, I need the plug on the new air conditioner to go into the existing wall outlet, but cant seem to find a adapter. I would really prefer not having to get a electrician involved to save some money.

Any help?


Edit- It looks like I need a 6-20p to 6-30r nema adapter - But I cant seem to find one online. Where can you get it?
 

Last edited by Daniel Saltman; 09-02-13 at 01:07 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-02-13, 12:54 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,760
Welcome to the forums.

The new plug looks like a 120 volt, 20 amp plug. You sure it's 240 volts?
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-13, 01:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
  #4  
Old 09-02-13, 01:10 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: WI/MN
Posts: 18,760
That says it's 208 volts....
 
  #5  
Old 09-02-13, 01:20 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
The link specs list it as 208/240 volt.

You need to change the breaker to a 20 amp breaker, then change the receptacle to a 6-20R. You will likely need a new faceplate. This will likely cost less than an adapter. The wire size should be fine as it will likely be #10.
 
  #6  
Old 09-02-13, 02:29 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 17,607
The link specs list it as 208/240 volt.
Dont know if it matters but it says 230v not 240v

Voltage / 60 Hz: 208/230
 
  #7  
Old 09-02-13, 04:15 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Dont know if it matters but it says 230v not 240v
Yeah, I saw that too. I expect it's a typo. It shouldn't matter.

208/230 makes no sense. 208/240 - commercial 3-phase / residential single-phase - does.
 
  #8  
Old 09-02-13, 05:07 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The new plug looks like a 120 volt, 20 amp plug.
It does at first glance, doesn't it? Took me a second, and a suspicion of what the difference might be, to get it.

In a 120V 20A receptacle, the "T" is on the neutral, or left-of-ground, or clockwise-from-ground, slot. On the plug on the OP's A/C unit, it's the blade for the other slot that's turned flat, or 90[SUP]o[/SUP]. That plug won't fit into a 120V receptacle. It will fit into the 6-20R receptacle that Tolyn suggested.
 
  #9  
Old 09-02-13, 05:38 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,285
What gave it away for me is the big "6-20P" on the cord cap.
 
  #10  
Old 09-02-13, 08:05 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
What gave it away for me is the big "6-20P" on the cord cap.
Oh yeah. .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes