Adding an outdoor subpanel for an AG pool

Old 09-03-13, 08:44 AM
Adding an outdoor subpanel for an AG pool

Hello everyone... I am adding a pool to my yard. This project is still in its infancy, but I am looking to add an outdoor subpanel for the new pool. I am only at the stage where I am laying conduit in my trench. However, I have already pulled permits and have added a 30-amp, single phase breaker in the main panel. The run is just shy of 50 feet and I plan on pulling 12-gauge Romex rated for outdoor use. I only plan on running a pump and maybe an underwater light or two. I was considering this panel: Square D by Schneider Electric Homeline 100 Amp 6-Space 12-Circuit Outdoor Main Lugs Load Center-HOM612L100RBCP at The Home Depot

I'm not a big expert on adding subpanels but I figure that if I ground this properly, it should work for what I need. I don't see why I would need anything more than 30 amps since the pump would have a max draw of 20, and an underwater pool light should have a rather insignificant draw of amperage. Is this a good box? Is there something else I should be using instead?

Sponsored Links
Old 09-03-13, 09:22 AM
I wouldn't do anything smaller than 50 amps. You cannot use UF for a pool, you need to use THWN in conduit. 2 ground rods are required, as well as all of the article 680 requirements.

Old 09-03-13, 10:04 AM
Group Moderator
A 12 circuit main lug will require a disconnect. Probably easier and cheaper to use an eight space 100 amp main breaker panel. It should include the main breaker which is used only as a disconnect in this case not over load protection.

Old 09-03-13, 10:23 AM
Why 2 ground rods? And can I add GFCI breakers inside this subpanel in addition to grounding it (instead of a GFCI in the main panel)?

Last edited by StoningtonQB; 09-03-13 at 10:41 AM.
Old 09-03-13, 10:46 AM
Why 2 ground rods?
Because it's for your pool.
Originally Posted by Justin Smith