Range Hood: Junction box Needed?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-06-13, 01:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: IN
Posts: 56
Range Hood: Junction box Needed?

I have removed an old range hood. There was no electrical box in the wall. The 12-2 plus ground wire came throught the drywall and wire nuts were used to connect the range hood wiring to the romex. should I install an electrical box in the wall, make all the electical connections inside that box, and then attach the rangehood to the cabinet? Advise.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-06-13, 03:44 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,063
Yes connections should always be made in a junction box. Sometimes the connection box of the fixture is rated as a junction box.
 
  #3  
Old 09-06-13, 04:08 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,400
The 12-2 plus ground wire came throught the drywall and wire nuts were used to connect the range hood wiring to the romex
Were the connections made inside the range hood's box or enclosure?
 
  #4  
Old 09-07-13, 03:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 380
Don't some elec contractors just pull the elec wire right through the drywall without junction boxes for things like hard-wired under-cabinet lights and range hoods?
 
  #5  
Old 09-07-13, 04:17 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
As the others have mentioned, yes, if the appliance has its own wiring containment system, such as a built in junction box, which most hoods have.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes