Help figure out switched outlet wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-08-13, 01:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 56
Help figure out switched outlet wiring

Hello,

In my office, there is a switch at the door that switches the top socket of an outlet on the far wall, probably intended for a floorlamp. The bottom socket is always on.

I want to wire up two dimmable CF can lights, and replace the switch with a CF-compatible dimmer switch that control those lights only; I want to modify the socket on the far wall so that both top & bottom are always on like a normal socket.

When I pulled the switch and the outlet to inspect the wiring, I could not figure out what was going on. I saw a 14x3 as I expected, but I also saw a separate 12x2 whose involvement I can't quite figure out. My Home Depot 'Wiring 1-2-3' book didn't quite cover this scenario either. Can someone please help me out?

1) To power the cans, I planned to use the RED and WHITE from the 14x3.
2) Replace the (split) outlet with a normal non-split outlet; wire it with black and white from the 14x3, capping off the unused red wire.

Thanks for your help!

-Jeff
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-08-13, 01:55 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
The 12/2 cables are just your hot/neutral in, and hot/neutral out. The out cable feeds something else in the house, same thing at the last receptacle in your diagram.

Your proposed plan is good.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-13, 02:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 56
Thanks for your prompt reponse!

I think I understand. So the actual power is coming from the 12/2, and the 14/3 is just used to carry both the switched (red) and unswitched (black) hots to the outlet.

I think what confused me is that both the switch and the outlet are not at end-of-runs, if I follow what you are saying: there is something that the 12/2 powers upstream of the switch; and, there is something that the 12/2 powers downstream of the outlet.

Thanks for helping me wrap my head around this!
 
  #4  
Old 09-08-13, 02:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
Since you have #14 in the run the breaker or fuse needs to be no more than 15 amps.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'