Is there any way to get 120V from 240V 12-2?

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-17-13, 08:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Is there any way to get 120V from 240V 12-2?

I have a potential buyer for my summer cottage who would like to use heat tape on the pump plumbing in order to extend the useable season into the early winter (for hunting). My well pump is in a 10-foot deep pit and the wiring to it is direct-burial 12-2wg carrying 240V to the pump. This wire was buried a long time ago and now there's an attached garage, a driveway, a deck and a sidewalk over it.
With no neutral I can't see a way to advise him how to proceed.
Not a deal breaker--I just want to help if I can.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-17-13, 08:23 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
No no way short of a transformer and only if there is enough excess amperage. Simpler to just use 240 volt heat tape. Just Googled and a lot of hits. Example: EASYHEAT HB Series Pipe Heating System
 
  #3  
Old 09-17-13, 09:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Hmmm--didn't know you could get 240V heat tape. That would be best. Other than that I may check the motor rating & see if it (plus the heat tape) can be run off 120V 20A that the cable can carry. I changed the breaker to a dual when I replaced the pump so the motor would spin up faster without dimming the lights.

Or I could do nothing I have a feeling since I'm just a block away he'll be coming to me with any questions.
 
  #4  
Old 09-17-13, 09:41 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
I changed the breaker to a dual when I replaced the pump so the motor would spin up faster without dimming the lights.
I don't understand. Do you mean switched from 120 volts to 240 volts?
 
  #5  
Old 09-17-13, 10:06 AM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Other than that I may check the motor rating & see if it (plus the heat tape) can be run off 120V 20A that the cable can carry. I changed the breaker to a dual when I replaced the pump so the motor would spin up faster without dimming the lights.
Do the math, by all means. It'll be interesting to see what you come up with. Since 240V is generally more efficient that 120V, as your experience with converting the supply for your pump shows, I have a hunch the figures will point to staying with the 240V setup.

Or I could do nothing
Always an attractive option.
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-13, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
Originally Posted by ray2047

I changed the breaker to a dual when I replaced the pump so the motor would spin up faster without dimming the lights.
I don't understand. Do you mean switched from 120 volts to 240 volts?
Yes the new pump motor was 120/240. Seemed to start much easier on 240. I don't recall the nameplate HP or amp requirements but I'm pretty sure it's a fractional HP motor needing less than 16A @ 120V.
 
  #7  
Old 09-17-13, 03:57 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213


I just had to ask this and yes, I know this is off topic.

since I'm just a block away he'll be coming to me with any questions.
You stated this was your summer cottage. Why would you have a summer cottage a block away from home?
 
  #8  
Old 09-17-13, 06:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,465
New cottage (on the lake) is a block away from previous cabin. I like it there that much.
 
  #9  
Old 09-18-13, 05:41 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
That's a pretty good reason.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'