Connecting Service Entry Cable to Aerial Triplex

Old 09-17-13, 11:51 AM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connecting Service Entry Cable to Aerial Triplex

Hi All,

Newbie here--new to this forum and to DIYing. Moved to an old 1946 farmhouse and my husband and I will be doing the renovations ourselves.

First project is moving a subpanel so we can demo/rebuild the garage. The whole wiring will be updated within the year, but we need to move that panel so we have enough power to work. I realize nothing is up to code--the subpanel is wired without a ground, and grounds and neutral are tied into a single bus bar.

We have aerial triplex (aluminum) running from the main panel to the 100A subpanel. We have to shorten that to the new subpanel location. We can use a split bolt or parallel groove clamp to connect the SE cable to the triplex (no barrel crimp or H-tap available). I read in 1 place that the power company used to use parallel groove clamps for this and wrap with tape and that is what appears to be on the PoCo side of the main panel. I read in another place a split-bolt actually meets NEC code. Is that correct? Any votes for one or the other?
Any difference in which connector should be used for the messenger wire versus the hots?

Second issue. The SE cable is old and worn to the point nothing can be read on it; it is an older SEU style cable (2 hots and a return). We could only find SER 2-2-2-4 (SE cable type SER with XHHW-2). Are we better off using this new cable and cutting back the ground wire or using the old cable and just taping till the whole system is updated?

TIA,
CJC

Sponsored Links
Old 09-17-13, 11:54 AM
Use 2-2-2-4 SER, and replace the triplex with quadruplex.

Old 09-17-13, 12:23 PM