Electric Stove Wiring

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 09-18-13, 08:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric Stove Wiring

I was recently given an electric stove from someone who gutted it out of an old house. It's about 3 years old and I wanted to test it to make sure it works before I try and sell it. It's got 4 wires coming out of the conduit. The only outlet I have is a 3 prong outlet for my welder and I have some extras of those plugs. You can probably tell where I'm going with this, but I was told by an electrician I don't know that I can tie the ground and the neutral together and attach them to the ground on the 3-prong plug.

My understanding on 220V 4 wire plugs is that the neutral ties in to one of the hots for parts on the piece of equipment that operate off 110V, correct? So how would joining the neutral and ground together allow the 110V parts to work since they're not technically joining to a neutral wire to the panel?

My last question is if I do the mentioned above and plug it in, do I risk damaging anything or will the 110 equipment just not work?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-18-13, 12:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
My understanding on 220V 4 wire plugs is that the neutral ties in to one of the hots
Only if you want a big bang and fireworks. It ties to the ground. Tech note: The stove is 120/240 not 110/220.

I find it a bit scarey you asked that. I suggest you buy the book Wiring Simplified available at Amazon and other book sellers including the electrical aisle of some BigBox stores. Read it from cover to cover before doing any electrical work.
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-13, 12:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 13
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
110, 115, 120 all different ways of saying the same thing (unless you're talking international). Just depends on if you're referring to the peak voltage, RMS, average, etc.

But I figured out the answer. Going from 4 to 3 USED to be allowed up till 1996(?) when the 3 wire outlet was two hots and a neutral. I have an outlet that has 2 hots and a ground so this would not work on my outlet.

Guess I'll have to bring home my generator and use that outlet...
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: