60 amp gfi

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-18-13, 10:22 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
60 amp gfi

I have a swim spa that needs a 60 amp gfi with loaded neutral.
The panel is GE. I am told they (GE) dont make one. Will any other brand work?
 
  #2  
Old 09-18-13, 10:57 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,669
Received 49 Votes on 44 Posts
They sell a re-branded one in a spa panel - GE 60 Amp GFI Spa Panel-UG412RMW260P at The Home Depot
 
  #3  
Old 09-18-13, 11:18 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. Will it fit my existing panel and does it have the neutral pigtail?
 
  #4  
Old 09-18-13, 12:48 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,669
Received 49 Votes on 44 Posts
Breaker will probably fit but not legal to pass inspection. Use a separate panel near spa - might also use as means of disconnect within sight.
 
  #5  
Old 09-18-13, 01:23 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,782
Received 99 Votes on 89 Posts
Midwest (owned by GE) also has both 50 and 60 amp spa panels. Both Home Depot and Lowes used to sell 50 and 60 amp Midwest Spa Panels.

http://www.midwestelectric.com/catalog/pdf/MET018.pdf

Use a separate panel near spa - might also use as means of disconnect within sight.
Astuff is right, you need a disconnect at the spa anyway so just feed the spa panel with a 60A 2P GE THQL breaker.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: