home Generator switching re electric boiler

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-21-13, 08:51 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
home Generator switching re electric boiler

We are looking at installing a backup generator in a home that has a 400 A service and a very large electric boiler system. I understand that a 400A transfer switch would be required to switch the panel from regular electric feed to generated power. A 20 KW self starting generator system would easily handle everything with the exception of the electric boiler. Is there a way to have the boiler switch off when running on generated power, ie some sort of a cut out switch? It is a seasonal home and not likely that someone would be there and could just turn the thermostat down to stop boiler from coming on. It would seem there should be a way to do this without adding sub panels as we have very little space available to add another panel.
Thank you, John
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-21-13, 09:22 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 100
Received 2 Votes on 1 Post
Generac's 400amp service entrance switch has load shedding built in, 2 thermostat connections plus 4 connections for up to 50amp (small) load control modules. Kohler has the same capability using a separate panel 18.4" x 15.4" x 5.3".

The Generac and Kohler service entrance switches are NEMA 3R and can be mounted outside, freeing up interior space.
 
  #3  
Old 09-22-13, 06:48 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,982
Received 56 Votes on 54 Posts
You need a circuit fed from upstream of the transfer switch (is that what the load shedding feature consists of?)

Such a circuit might be used to light up an indicator to tell you when utility power is on (again), or in this case to operate a relay (load control module? or contactor) downstream of the boiler's breaker to enable/disable the boiler.
 
  #4  
Old 09-22-13, 07:37 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 100
Received 2 Votes on 1 Post
No. load shedding is a feature of whole home switches that sit between your meter and main panel. Load shedding is done by opening relays on circuits when excessive load is sensed. There are variations in the programming across different brands, but the switch (and features) should be from the same brand as the generator.
 
  #5  
Old 09-22-13, 11:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,042
Received 835 Votes on 782 Posts
Good reply pat.

In working with generators all the time we get to see the different transfer switches. The Generac one has better load shedding options. The Kohler, although a better switch, requires that expensive load shedding module unit(GM77) with the relays.
 
  #6  
Old 09-30-13, 01:55 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Guys
Thank you for the replies. I will forward this information to my electrician. This should lead us to a solution
John
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: