Please help me wire my sub well pump to my generator

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-13, 08:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 1
Please help me wire my sub well pump to my generator

We need to wire our well pump direct to our generator. Since we'll only use it occasionally, we are not using a pressure switch, etc.

Our genny is 3000w.

Our pump is 2 wire, 115 v, 1/2 hp, 2 wire.

Our wire is 12 g.

Our well is 100' deep, 20' - 30' head.

I just need to know exactly how to hook everything up.

TIA for any tips or help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-25-13, 02:00 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Welcome to the forums.

Since we'll only use it occasionally, we are not using a pressure switch, etc.
So this well is only used for irrigation and has a submersible pump ?
If it's used for your domestic water then it must have a pressure switch and should have a tank.

Have you ever run the well on the generator yet ?
It may have a problem starting that pump.
 
  #3  
Old 09-25-13, 08:50 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,463
Have you ever run the well on the generator yet ?
It may have a problem starting that pump.
That's what happened to me. My genny is rated at least 2X what my pump requires but the starting current of that pump with all that heavy water sitting on top of it stalled my generator like I jammed a crowbar in it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'