meter socket question

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-26-13, 09:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 2
meter socket question

Hi, first I'd like to give a shout out to this forum. I was having my lights dim then get bright I searched online for a possible cause from reading here I found out I needed to call my power company asap. I did they came right out,found I had a loose lug (?) they tightened it and said it might be good for a few more years but I want to replace it. However I don't know what to purchase. I know I have a 100 amp service so is there a certain meter socket I need? They said my dad can replace it but I have to go buy it first.
 
Sponsored Links
  #3  
Old 09-26-13, 09:41 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 2
Thank you so much.
 
  #4  
Old 09-26-13, 11:16 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
I don't know what to purchase. I know I have a 100 amp service so is there a certain meter socket I need? They said my dad can replace it but I have to go buy it first.
Most power companies will have a publication with the approved meter sockets for use on their system. For example, a horn bypass is a pretty common requirement any more and the one at the link doesn't have it. I'd first start by calling the power company and get their list. Now, considering your meter socket needs to be replaced, that usually means it's also time to replace the service entrance wiring (conduit/wire or cable). This needs to be evaluated. OK, let's now assume you are ready to replace the socket. The power company will have to be involved to disconnect power at the pole before the socket can be changed. This usually involves a permit and inspection before the power can be reconnected. There are many things to consider so I wouldn't advise going out to buy a meter socket immediately until you have a chance to first discuss this with the power company. I don't mean to discuss with the trouble man who tightened the loose lug, you need to discuss this with soneone in the office. The next step would be to consult the AHJ (inspector's office). Usually when you touch the service the entire service must be brought to today's code to pass inspection before the power company is allowed to reconnect the power. Bottom line is, this is a job for an experienced professional who knows all the ins and outs and not your dad.
 
  #5  
Old 09-26-13, 11:55 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: VA.
Posts: 813
I agree to consult AHJ but, around here they don't inspect meters because it "belongs" to the power co.
 
  #6  
Old 09-26-13, 02:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,213
Our power company provides the meter box and will not set a meter in any box that didn't come from them. You should definitely consult them before making any purchace!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'