Add a ceiling light in a bedroom

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-29-13, 03:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
Add a ceiling light in a bedroom

Hi, if anyone could please help me out, I'd appreciate it very much. I'm currently trying to add a ceiling light in one of my bedrooms. There is currently a switch that controls one of the half outlets in the room. There is only one wire coming into the switch currently and the hot wire is the white wire. Please see the attached images for the single pole switch and the outlet which the switch currently controls. As for what I would like to happen, I only care about the switch working for the ceiling light I am about to hook up. It does not matter to me if the outlet works with the switch or not.

I have attic access above, so I know how to run the wires from the ceiling to the switch. I just need some help on how to connect it to the switch. Thanks.

Name:  photo.jpg
Views: 381
Size:  24.5 KBName:  photo(2).jpg
Views: 549
Size:  31.8 KBName:  photo(1) (Large).jpg
Views: 337
Size:  28.4 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-29-13, 04:34 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
There is only one wire coming into the switch currently and the hot wire is the white wire.
No there is one cable not wire. There are two wires both hots. You have a switch loop. Power comes in at the receptacle.

Just need to replace and rewire the receptacle and run a 2-conductor cable from the new light to the switch box.
At the receptacle:
  • Remove the existing receptacle and replace with a new receptacle that has the tab between the screws on the brass side intact.
  • Connect all of the blacks to a pigtail. (6"-8" length of wire same color and gage.)
  • Connect all whites to a pigtail.
  • Connect black pigtail to a brass screw.
  • Connect white pigtail to silver screw.
  • Connect grounds according to code.
At the switch:
  • Connect whites to each other.
  • Connect blacks to switch.
  • Connect grounds according to code.
 
  #3  
Old 10-01-13, 06:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 6
I just wanted to reply back and tell you thank you very much for helping me out and correcting my terminology and lack of electrical knowledge. Everything works perfectly now.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-13, 06:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,646
Glad you got it. Thanks for letting us know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'