2 black wires, 2 white wires, and 1 red wire

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-02-13, 04:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
2 black wires, 2 white wires, and 1 red wire

Hi, this is my first time here but I couldn't find an answer I was looking for.

I need to replace an electrical outlet that is different from ones I've replaced in the past. This outlet has 2 black wires, 2 white wires, and 1 red wire (see attached picture). How do I properly wire with an outlet that has 2 brass screws, 2 silver screws and a ground? Thank you so much!
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-02-13, 04:50 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,975
Received 35 Votes on 30 Posts
You would pigtail the two blacks together .along with a short black piece of wire. Break out the tab between the brass screws. Connect the black to one of the brass screws. Connect the red to the other brass.

Connect the whites and grounds following the existing wiring.

Your receptacle is half switched.
 
ajaopify voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 10-02-13, 05:57 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If your duplex receptacle was mounted with the ground slots down, the upper receptacle was switched. If it was mounted with the ground slots up, the lower receptacle would have been the one controlled by the switch.

Either way, if you terminate the red wire to the brass screw that's further away from the ground screw, and the black wire to the brass screw that's closer to the ground screw, your new duplex recerotacle will have the same receptacle switched as it did before.
 
  #4  
Old 10-04-13, 10:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What kind of wire do I use to pigtail it with? I tried looking for a label on the black wires but couldn't find anything. Thanks!
 
  #5  
Old 10-04-13, 10:26 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Use THHN/THWN same color and gage. Or buy a package of these in the correct color and gage.

 
  #6  
Old 10-04-13, 01:25 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
What kind of wire do I use to pigtail it with?
Use black, either THHN or a piece of black out of a cable.

If this is on a 15A circuit, you can use either 12AWG or 14AWG. If it's on a 20A circuit the wire will have to be 12AWG.

I tried looking for a label on the black wires but couldn't find anything.
Yep. The wires in cables aren't labeled because they aren't rated for use as individual conductors. Making a pigtail inside a box is pretty much the only allowable use.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: