Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Do I need a 200amp panel? 1500sf home...all gas appliances but have a jacuzzi.

Do I need a 200amp panel? 1500sf home...all gas appliances but have a jacuzzi.

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-05-13, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Question Do I need a 200amp panel? 1500sf home...all gas appliances but have a jacuzzi.

I live in West LA in a 1500sf 3bd/2ba home. Most all of our lights are LED, gas dryer, gas furnace, gas oven/range, no AC in the home as well as the standard electrical dishwasher, disposal, 2 ceiling fans in bathrooms, 3 LED televisions that don't all run at the same time, etc. Nothing that draws big power.

We recently had a contractor move a jacuzzi that operated fine for years about 30 feet further from the breaker panel (its probably 50' of wire total). Now the hot tub flips the breaker after about 45 mins of running in its new (further from the house) location... happens every time. We had the contractor and his "electrician" come back and tell us we need to upgrade to a 200amp panel. It smells shady to me because it operated fine for many years prior and with all major appliance being gas I can't imagine our electrical load is that high. He didn't give me a price yet but said a new 200 amp panel is ~$600-700 and that its a full day job so whatever that labor costs is add'l. What is the concensus... should I go through the hassle of getting a few different electricians to come take look or does this sound reasonable?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-13, 05:23 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Welcome to the forums!

It sounds like you have about enough electrical loads for a 100A panel. If you will post the electrical specs for your hot tub, along with a description of how it's wired now, we may be able to help you spot something that's causing the tripping.

The wiring description should include the size of each breaker, the size of the wire, where and how the GFCI protection is provided, and how the tub is grounded. If you think pictures might help us see what you're dealing with, see How To Include Pictures.

Now the hot tub flips the breaker after about 45 mins of running in its new (further from the house) location... happens every time.
Which breaker? The one in your panel or the outside disconnect?

should I go through the hassle of getting a few different electricians to come take look or does this sound reasonable?
You could have them come look at the hot tub wiring.

We recently had a contractor move a jacuzzi that operated fine for years...
Was this contractor someone who works with hot tubs and spas on a regular basis?
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-13, 05:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You haven't added any additional load to the service. If it was not tripping the main before being relocated I see no reason for someone to even suggest the need for an upgrade.

There sounds like a problem with the extended wiring or with the tub.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-13, 03:43 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,391
We had the contractor and his "electrician" come back and tell us we need to upgrade to a 200amp panel.
Assuming you have 100 or 125 amp service now, you cannot just upgrade the panel without also upgrading the service entrance wiring, gounding and meter socket.

Which breaker? The one in your panel or the outside disconnect?
You need to answer this. Was the branch breaker to the hottub tripping or was it the main breaker?
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-13, 09:41 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Do you have an outside, in-sight, disconnect for the hot tub?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes