Turning two separate switches in to one switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-05-13, 04:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Turning two separate switches in to one switch

In my house under one wall plate, I have three switches. One switch is a part of a three way switch for a hall light. Two switches control two different sets of lights outside my house.

I bought one timer switch. I'd like that one timer switch to control both sets of outside lights.

I took off the wall plate and found this (Switches A and B):
Attachment 18813

(Switches B and C):
Attachment 18814

Switch A is a 3 way switch that controls the hall light. Switches B and C control the outside lights.

Note that the black wire attaching all three switches at the bottom is just one long black wire stripped to connect the three switches together.

What is the proper way to wire this? The two switches on the right need to be controlled off of one timer switch. I know one switch will end up doing nothing in the end, and I'm OK with that.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-13, 05:10 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
Wewlcome to the forums!

With the power off remove the black wire that's stabbed into the back of switch B and all of the wires from switch C.

Splice the single black wire from B and the single red wire from C together. Connect those to the Load terminal on your timer if one is designated as load. Ass a pigtail to the splice if needed. Connect the wire that's coming from A and B to the line terminal on your timer, again if there's one designated that way. If the two power terminals aren't specified as line and load, just connect the two load wires to one and the line feed to the other.

If you timer needs to be connected to neutral, those are the white wires spliced together in the back of the box and not connected to any of your existing switches.

Put everything back in the box and put the new cover plate on. Switch A will still be the 3-way, B will be dead and your new timer will be C. Turn the power back on and program the timer.
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-13, 06:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Thank you for your quick response!

The wire coming from A to B will likely not reach all the way over to the timer in slot C. However, the line connecting A to B and B to C is the same wire, with some sheathing stripped to connect switch B. Is it acceptable to wrap electrical tape over the exposed wire where switch B is and just use the far end of the wire (currently on switch C) to connect to the line terminal? Or is there a better/safer way to do it?
 
  #4  
Old 10-05-13, 06:47 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
The wire coming from A to B will likely not reach all the way over to the timer in slot C.
Sorry, but I have no idea what wire you're talking about.

However, the line connecting A to B and B to C is the same wire, with some sheathing stripped to connect switch B. Is it acceptable to wrap electrical tape over the exposed wire where switch B is and just use the far end of the wire (currently on switch C) to connect to the line terminal? Or is there a better/safer way to do it?
Originally Posted by Nashkat1
remove the black wire that's stabbed into the back of switch B and all of the wires from switch C.
The line feed wire that's connected from A to B to C stays on both A and B. The end that was terminated to C goes to the line terminal on the timer. No need to tape anything.
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-13, 06:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Sorry, I misunderstood when you said, "Connect the wire that's coming from A and B to the line terminal on your timer," but I understand now. Thanks again!
 
  #6  
Old 10-05-13, 07:06 PM
Nashkat1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 8,470
No worries! .
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'