Looking for help wiring an induction range.

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-13, 11:01 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looking for help wiring an induction range.

I currently have a 1964 Frigidaire Cooktop, with a 30 amp breaker. The wiring looks to be 8 guage solid copper, but I can't verify because the wire is not marked anywhere. I will include pictures below. The breaker has the two hot, red and black connected to the breaker, and the white to the ground lug. The basement has been finished in my home, and I don't think a new run will be an easy option, as the wire runs perpendicular to the floor joists. The wire run is 50'.

My new induction range needs 50 amp service, so I'll likely have an electrician look at what I have, but I'm looking for advise on what gauge wire I have based on pictures, and sample wire from the electrician at work. He gave me samples of 8 and 10 gauge, but it's braided.

See sample photo's. I think I have #8 wire.

Name:  20131006_102057.jpg
Views: 1117
Size:  51.1 KBName:  20131006_102212.jpg
Views: 664
Size:  53.2 KBName:  20131006_102427.jpg
Views: 475
Size:  51.7 KB
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-13, 11:40 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
For 50amps you need #6. You will need to run new cable.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 10-06-13 at 01:00 PM.
  #3  
Old 10-06-13, 11:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,422
Received 1,407 Votes on 1,302 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

From what I see.... that looks like #10 wire on a two pole 30a breaker. That would make sense.
That white neutral wires looks like #12 (one size smaller)

You should actually be using #6-3 w/gr. wiring on a 50amp breaker.



As always.....late to the party..
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: