Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

can we save with a simple 3 phase 120/208 installation vs 3 phase + single phase

can we save with a simple 3 phase 120/208 installation vs 3 phase + single phase

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-08-13, 06:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1
can we save with a simple 3 phase 120/208 installation vs 3 phase + single phase

Hello,

i need few advises as i'm drawing plans for my new commercial installation.

We currently have 400amp 3 phase at 240v delta 3W + single phase 200 amp at 120/240v in one building, thus two meters.

We need to wire a warehouse and a shed on the same parcel but separated from the main building.

The warehouse would need 3 phase 400 amp at 120/208V + single phase 200 amp at 120/240V (for domestic applications), and the shed could have a 3 phase 40 amp sub panel from the warehouse and another single phase sub panel for light equipment (lighting, alarm, etc)

My question is, as this configuration would involve upgrading to a 3 phase 800amp 120/208V 4W and 400 amp at 120/240v installation,

wouldn't it be easier and more economical to draw single phase out of 1200amp 120/208V 4W splitted in 2x 600 amp load centers when needed and thus only install 3 phase distribution panels?

I have to stress that we subsequently plan to install a solar system, and i have no idea if this will be compatible with that configuration.

Any advise or opinion is welcome!
Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-08-13, 06:40 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,091
If you have no 240 volt loads (single or 3 phase) then you can have a 120/208 volt 3 phase system serve everything -- 208 volt 3 phase loads and 120 volt single phase loads (and also 208 volt single phase loads).

You'll have to check if the power company offers 120/208 volt 3 phase.

There may or may not be complications rewiring all of the 3 phase panels to have a neutral for the 120 volt branch circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 10-09-13, 03:07 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: port chester n y
Posts: 2,117
What are the loads on the 3-phase, 3-wire, 240 volt Delta system ?; are they mostly 3-phase , 240 volt motors?

Is it possible the Utilty Co can provide a seperate Service for the warehouse?;you may need to leave the existing Delta system intact.
 
  #4  
Old 10-09-13, 07:08 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
The warehouse would need 3 phase 400 amp at 120/208V + single phase 200 amp at 120/240V (for domestic applications), and the shed could have a 3 phase 40 amp sub panel from the warehouse and another single phase sub panel for light equipment (lighting, alarm, etc)
Why do you need so much power for a simple warehouse, how big is it? Is there production machinery that requires all that power? You don't need a separate single phase service if your 3-phase service is 120/208V 3p4W. This service would provide your 120 volt needs. Your 240 volt needs would be served by 208 volts.

Can you provide some load information?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes