Help Needed Light Switch Setup Correction

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-13, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Help Needed Light Switch Setup Correction

Previous owner screwed up garage lighting. I probably wont make much sense here but I will give it a shot, check out the diagram below too. Basically (yeah right) I am Trying to control 3 lights.

Garage subpanel with 2 20 amp breakers tied together.

Box one has a single pole (miswired).

In that box there is a black (line) another black (controls 1 of the 3 lights). and 2 reds (which I think should be the travelers of a 3 way switch). One red is pigtailed with the second black and connects to single pole to make the circuit with the black (line). The other red is capped. No white/neutrals in switch box.

Box 2 has a three way.
Black (common) and 2 reds (travelers). No white neutrals in switch box.

When single pole is switched on the three way in box 2 only controls 2 of the 3 lights. When single pole is off in box one, the 3 way in box 2 has no power. The extra black in box 1 controls the 3rd light and is only controled by the single pole in box 1.

I put in a 3 way in box 1, hooked black (line) to common and the two reds to the travelers like the 3 way in box 2. They both control 2 of the 3 lights correctly. THe other black which sends power to the 3rd light is now capped but I am unsure where to to pigtail this second black wire to send power to the 3rd light (for the 3rd light).

There is another switch with basic wiring in box 1 but Im not sure how the neutrals are shared (ie 2 breakers tied together). If I tie it to the that switch and the hot going to it is on one leg of the neutral is on the other, is that unacceptable?

Below is my diagram, I guess I Will throw it out there, please ask me to clarify anything and I will post right back. Heres the link to a bigger version :

http://tiny(space)url.com/k29b79a
(you'll need to remove the "space" so it shows properly) .

Thanks, Mike.


Need some help correcting switch setup, the photo hopefully depicts on how it is miswired now:
[ATTACH=CONFIG]19217[/ATTACH]
Heres the link.
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-UVFWW
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-13, 12:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,465
Welcome to the forums.

You've got a lot going on here and quite a bit to digest.

How many switches do you have in box 1 ?
Since you have an awful lot of colors with no whites can we assume it's all in pipe ?

The only time you'd have black and white on a switch is if that was part of a switch loop.

I couldn't access your tinypic link nor the google link.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-13, 01:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,644
Tinypic is blocked by the forum. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...-pictures.html
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-13, 03:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 592
Hi - thanks for looking. The crude diagram I have is in the body of the message or you can see a bigger version at the following link:
http://tiny(space)url.com/k29b79a

Please cut and past address, then remove the "(space)" to view.

Any ideas would be great... I have a specific question that I will hold off until someone can offer their input.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-13, 04:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,465
Since you have an awful lot of colors with no whites can we assume it's all in pipe ?
Ok.....I see your diagram.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'