Radon Fan Trips GFCI Overnight

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-20-13, 09:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Radon Fan Trips GFCI Overnight

This has been happening for the last couple of weeks.
Here are the basics:
Fan pulls Radon from sump below concrete slab basement.
Sump area is sealed off from basement.
4" PVC runs up and through wall (above grade).
Fan is outside house and plugged into exterior GFCI outlet.
Exterior outlet tied to non-GFCI outlet in basement.
Everything plugged into basement outlet still works.
Exterior GFCI can be reset in AM and it will run all day.
Sometime between midnight and 6am GFCI trips.
Fan is in good working order - no debris, defects, etc.
Removed fan, plugged into garage power strip (lab quality).
Power strip plugged into GFCI outlet. GFCI trips.
15A breaker on power strip does not trip.
Fan runs fine when plugged into non-GFCI outlets.
Related? - After recent heavy rain, sump has water in it.
Sump water level varies but rarely enough to engage pump.

So, do I have any code-compliant options other than hard-wiring the Radon fan to an interior, non-GFCI outlet?

Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-20-13, 10:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,048
Welcome to the forums.

It would appear that your radon fan has excessive leakage from hot to ground. That could be caused by water leaking into the motor.

Connecting it to a non-GFI circuit is not the answer.
 
  #3  
Old 10-20-13, 12:09 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
Replace the fan motor. ..........................
 
  #4  
Old 01-21-14, 01:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 220
I have exactly the same issue myself.

The fan manufacturer says it (amg maverick) shouldn't be on a GFCI circuit because they will often have ground faults without anything being wrong.

Any code issues here?
I would appreciate any comments.
 
  #5  
Old 01-21-14, 01:52 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Receptacles in unfurnished basements are required to be GFI protected.
 
  #6  
Old 01-21-14, 05:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: US
Posts: 220
In my case there are no outlets involved; all hardwired. Sorry
 
  #7  
Old 01-21-14, 07:08 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
In my case there are no outlets involved; all hardwired. Sorry
Then you must have a GFCI breaker tripping.

The fan manufacturer says it (amg maverick) shouldn't be on a GFCI circuit because they will often have ground faults without anything being wrong.
A GFCI circuit breaker will trip on a ground fault or an overload. You obviously have one or the other. If the manufacturer says to not put the motor on a GFCI circuit, what is tripping? If there is a ground fault, there is something wrong.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes