New 200 AMP Service

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-26-13, 09:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
New 200 AMP Service

The electric company added an additional 200 AMP service at our meter pole. We/Contractor are bring it in approximately 215 feet into a attic space renovation. We are getting conflicting info regarding the type of wire, size of wire etc. The space is going to be used for elderly parents (living room, kitchen, bedroom-2, bathroom-2), separate HVAC and hot water heater. What size wire should we be using?
 

Last edited by metree; 10-26-13 at 10:18 AM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-26-13, 10:12 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
What size wire is should we be using?
You can only have one service to the house. How many amps is the existing service and how many amps is the contractor bringing in to upgrade your service to? Is the service coming in underground or overhead? Has the contractor done a load calculation of the existing home and another for the new attic renovation? Is your main disconnect at the meter pole? I am assuming it is. What power company do you get your power from?
 
  #3  
Old 10-26-13, 10:17 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
We currently have a 200 amp service coning into the main house. An additional 200 amp, which we paid for, was added on a separate breaker at the pole. The service is coming in underground. The trench has been dug. We are with Osage Valley Co-op.
 
  #4  
Old 10-26-13, 10:19 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Is one service on the house or are both at the pole?

The sizing rules will be different if the cables do not carry the entire load of the house.
 
  #5  
Old 10-26-13, 10:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3
One service address only. We upgraded our service for $550 from the electric co-op. We had one 200 amp breaker at the pole which ran our house as it currently is. The additional 200 amp which was added will be on our same service but is being brought in separately, but on the same meter, and will be dedicated to the renovated space only.
 
  #6  
Old 10-26-13, 10:30 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,397
We currently have a 200 amp service coning into the main house. An additional 200 amp, which we paid for, was added on a separate breaker at the pole.
My opinion is that you can only have one power feed into the house. Your main breaker is at the meter pole so the panel in the house is a subpanel requiring a 4-wire feed into the house. I believe what the coop should have done is provided you with a 400 amp breaker so you could upgrade your existing 200 amp service to 400 amps. This, of course, is if you really need to upgrade. The existing 200 amp service may be fine for your existing home and the attic renovation all depending on the load calculation. Does your county or city issue electrical permits and perform inspections?
 
  #7  
Old 10-26-13, 01:58 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
The "service" is where the utility's wires end at or near the meter through to the first disconnect point. In this case that would be the circuit breaker panel on the meter pole. From that first disconnect to the house the wires are called "feeders" and terminate in what is popularly called a "sub-panel" although that term does not exist in the National Electrical Code.

While it is highly unusual to run more than a single set of feeders to a building it is not absolutely prohibited. If the mother-in-law apartment has a separate entrance from the main house and a completely separate electrical system then there should be minimal problem getting local approval for the separate feeder.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes