Passing water & gas grounds thru Sub-Panel OK?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-01-13, 09:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 62
Passing water & gas grounds thru Sub-Panel OK?

I saw from the sub-panel diagram sticky a similar setup to what I would like to do, but not exactly the same. My current main panel is fed from a burried conduit run that goes 20ft around the outside of my house from the service drop. I am upgrading to 200A and I have to increase the conduit size. Rather than replace the current conduit (50% of which is under a patio) I would like to run through my conditioned crawlspace to the same panel location.

I would do this by adding an exterior 200A main just below the meter and feeding a sub panel via a conduit run through the conditioned crawlspace. I will have two GECs outside near the meter that will feed into the main where they are bonded to the service neutral, but I am also required to bond the water and gas lines. My question is if I can connect the water and gas lines to the grounded bus bar in the sub panel and use a single #4 copper conductor from the sub to the main to connect the ground, or if I have to individually connect the water line and the gas line directly to the main.

Here is one of Ray's awesome diagrams edited to show what I'm going for:
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-01-13, 10:11 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
The grounding and bonding should take place all in the service panel.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-13, 10:28 AM
Glennsparky's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 136
The only guy whose opinion counts is the guy who signs off on the permit. Ask your inspector.

I'd rather see the #4 not run in the pipe. With a ground inside the pipe. And connections done like pcboss said. But what you propose isn't terrible.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-13, 04:21 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
But what you propose isn't terrible.
It's not terrible, but it isn't continuous to the main panel either, which it needs to be. I Also go with what Pcboss says.

Rather than replace the current conduit (50% of which is under a patio) I would like to run through my conditioned crawlspace to the same panel location.
I assume that this is a new meter location. Has your power company blessed this new location. Some power companies have very strict rules on meter location.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'