New outlet fed from switch?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-02-13, 02:38 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6
New outlet fed from switch?

Hello all, I am doing some minor renovations in my living room and the decision was made to relocate the television to above the fireplace. I've done this in a previous home except I was able to run wire directly from the new outlet location straight back to the panel. This home has a drywall ceiling in the basement so that would be possible.

There is a switch to the right of the fireplace that turns the fireplace on and off, I took the cover plate off and I see there are three black wires hooked up to the switch itself. Two on the bottom and one at the top, there are also three white wires all wire nutted together and the grounds are twisted and clamped together. Am I able to wire this with some new wire and get constant power to a new outlet that won't be controlled by the switch?

If so, I would really appreciate how to do so

If you need more info on how it looks now I can take some pictures.

Thank you!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-13, 02:43 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
two on the bottom
Do you mean one on the screw and one inserted into the back?
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-13, 02:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6
Thank you for the very fast reply Ray, here is a pic I took that hopefully gives you a better idea of the switch.
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 11-02-13, 05:23 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
Good. Background: What you have is two wires on the bottom that best practice should have been connected to a pigtail and the pigtail to the screw. Instead they used the backstab as a splice. One of those blacks is power in and one is power to somewhere else. In this case which of those blacks is power in doesn't matter. Those two blacks along with the black to the new receptacle will be connected to a pigtail and the pigtail to the screw. The white for the receptacle goes to the bundle of whites in the box. Best practice the other black on the switch should be moved to the screw because backstab connections tend to fail.

Note this is probably only a 15 amp circuit so you should make sure that it has enough capacity for an added receptacle.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-13, 07:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 6
Ray - just wanted to follow up and say this worked perfectly. Thank you for sorting me out on this.
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-13, 08:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,050
Good, you got it. Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes